Puerto Rican Energy Policy and Regulatory Strategy Focus of Partnership

Peachtree Corners, Ga.—August 29, 2018—The Southern States Energy Board (SSEB) announced membership for its
Blue Ribbon Task Force as part of a project with the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

The project, “Strategizing an Electric Energy Policy and Regulatory Framework in Puerto Rico,” has two primary

(1) Work with the Governor and Legislature of Puerto Rico (PR) to establish a reliable, affordable, and sustainable
electric energy grid system for the Commonwealth, and for other purposes; and (2) Develop a policy and legal
framework to provide a regulatory regime for a possibly privatized electric energy grid system in Puerto Rico.

The Blue Ribbon Task Force was created under a DOE-funded project to make recommendations regarding the
functions of a Puerto Rico regulatory agency with responsibilities for ensuring a safe, reliable, and resilient electric
grid that provides a strategic energy plan for the future.

Task Force members come from a diverse group of organizations based in Puerto Rico and the continental
United States. Task Force members were identified and appointed by Puerto Rico Governor Ricardo Rosselló
Nevares, Senate President Thomas Rivera Schatz, House Speaker Carlos “Johnny” Méndez Núñez, and SSEB. Task Force membership is as follows:

Malu Blázquez, of the Resilient Puerto Rico Advisory Commission; Julie Imanuel Brown, of the Florida Public Service
Commission; Edison Avilés Deliz, of the Puerto Rico Energy Commission; Nisha Desai, of Aurora Clean Energy
Partners LLC; Martha Duggan, of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association; Dr. Cris Eugster, of CPS
Energy; Andres Rodriguez Figueroa, of Cygnus Healthcare and Technologies, Inc.; Julia Hamm, of the Smart Electric
Power Alliance; Mike Henchen, of the Rocky Mountain Institute; Dr. Mark A. Jamison, of the University of
Florida; Sergio Marxuach, of the Center for a New Economy; Erasto Rodriguez Molina, of Solar Energy & Resources,
Inc.; Jose Ortiz, of the Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority; Dr. Carl Pechman, of the National Regulatory Research
Institute; Marc G. Roumain Prieto, of the Windmar Group; Janet L. Sena, of the North American Electric
Reliability Corporation; Tomás Torres, of the Institute of Competitiveness and Economic Sustainability; Alejandro J.
Uriarte, of New Energy Consultants; and Pablo Vázquez, of the College of Engineers and Land Surveyors of Puerto Rico.

For further program information, visit www.sseb.org/strategizing-pr

Resource: SSEB

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest